Major Political Science Panel Meeting Summary for October 2014


To Facilitate Interinstitutional Transfer
Illinois Board of Higher Education
431, East Adams, Second Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1418
tel: 217/557-7355
fax: 217/782-8548
Illinois Community College Board
401, East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
tel: 217/524-5503
fax: 217/785-0090
Meeting Summary for Major Political Science Panel Meeting
Illinois State University's Alumni Center, Rm 119, Normal, IL 61761 Thursday, October 23, 2014
Members present: : Jane Bryant(John A. Logan College), Krista Jackson(iTransfer System ), Janice Leuchtenberg(iTransfer System ), Nancy Lind(Illinois State University), Craig Mulling(Prairie State College), Richard Stillwell(iTransfer System ), Bobby Summers(Harper College), Mikel Wyckoff(Northern Illinois University)
Members present virtually: Keith Boeckelman(Western Illinois University), Craig Curtis(Bradley University), Rich Kiefer(Waubonsee Community College), Carolyn Myers(Southwestern Illinois College), Steve Shulman(Southern Illinois University Carbondale)
Members Absent: Malinda Aiello(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Jeff Ashley(Eastern Illinois University), Raymond Barnett(University of Illinois at Springfield), Ashley Becker(Illinois Community College Board), Marcus Brown(Richland Community College), Sarah Diel-Hunt(Heartland Community College), Matthew Lees(Southeastern Illinois College), Terry Lenio(McHenry County College), Chris McDonald(Lincoln Land Community College), Drew McMurray(Wabash Valley College (IECC)), Deron Schreck(Moraine Valley Community College)


1. Introductions & Technology, Welcome New Members


2. Training, Orientation & Updates

            a. Review of iManage

b. Panel Related Documents Pages

c. Orientation

d. Personnel Changes at Boards


3. Course Review


Courses For Panel Review

0 New Courses
0 Resubmitted New Courses
0 Ongoing Review Courses
0 Resubmitted Ongoing Review Courses


4. Course Approval Criteria and Submission Process - Review materials 

a. Krista will make suggested changes to criteria, post them, then email panel asking them to   review

b.  If resubmission takes longer than 4 semesters from point of submission, please be sure to update all submissions items.


5. Items from Panel Members

            a. Some are using innovative textbooks.  How do we feel about that?

i. – 100% free, not-for-profit organization, editable, .pdf or ibookstore – not tested by any panel member

ii.  Some are putting together course materials without a traditional textbook

iii.  Direct links to readings, citations

iv.  Problematic in terms of review – each section of the course could be different

v.  Will probably be an issue/discussion at some point

            b.  Should we meet once per year only?

                        i. We do hold significant discussions

                        ii.  Don’t necessarily need twice per year meetings.

                        iii.  Could switch to conference calls

                        iv.  Prefer face-to-face meetings.  Will try once per year at 11am

                        v.  Time for ongoing review, so tabled for now?

                        vi.  Set a date for Spring, people choose.  Plan for majority to do face-to-face meeting in                          Fall.

            c.  New 4 year Co-Chair – Nancy Lind, Illinois State University

            d.  Social & Behavioral Science Panel looked at descriptors and recommendations for Major

            e.  Panel recommends S-5901 be eliminated.  No courses ever approved with this identifier.


6. Appreciation/Thank You to Departing Members


7. Dates for Next Meetings  

            a.  April 2, 2015

            b.  October 29, 2015

Site design, Information Architecture and Programming: Vacant

Copyright © 1996 - 2018 iTransfer.
If you have questions about transferring in Illinois, we may be able to help. Reach us at, Phone: (309) 438-8640