Major Political Science Panel Meeting Summary for October 2013


To Facilitate Interinstitutional Transfer
Illinois Board of Higher Education
431, East Adams, Second Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1418
tel: 217/557-7355
fax: 217/782-8548
Illinois Community College Board
401, East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
tel: 217/524-5503
fax: 217/785-0090
Minutes for Major Political Science Panel Meeting
ISU Alumni Center, Room 119 Thursday, October 17, 2013
Members present: : Marcus Brown(Richland Community College), Sarah Diel-Hunt(Heartland Community College), Joan Eastlund(Black Hawk College), Krista Jackson(iTransfer System), Janice Leuchtenberg(iTransfer System), Nancy Lind(Illinois State University), Drew McMurray(Wabash Valley College (IECC)), Carolyn Myers(Southwestern Illinois College), Bobby Summers(Harper College), Samuel Wheeler(Illinois Community College Board), Mikel Wyckoff(Northern Illinois University)
Members present virtually: Chris McDonald(Lincoln Land Community College)
Members Absent: Malinda Aiello(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Jeff Ashley(Eastern Illinois University), Raymond Barnett(University of Illinois at Springfield), Keith Boeckelman(Western Illinois University), Jane Bryant(John A. Logan College), Dan Cullen(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Craig Curtis(Bradley University), Brian Durham(Illinois Community College Board), Adam Julian(iTransfer System), Rich Kiefer(Waubonsee Community College), Matthew Lees(Southeastern Illinois College), Terry Lenio(McHenry County College), Pietro Lorenzini(Elgin Community College), Jason Pierceson(University of Illinois at Springfield), Deron Schreck(Moraine Valley Community College), Steve Shulman(Southern Illinois University Carbondale)


  1. Introductions and make sure technology is working.


  1. Training, Orientation & Updates
    1. After a very busy summer of evaluating IAI, there is room for improvement.  The end result is a new and improved Policies and Procedures Manual.
      1. Unique roles each of us play for effectiveness
      2. 5 yr Review is now Ongoing Review – panel manager will decide which identifier(s) will be reviewed, never more than 50 courses.
      3. Panel Member Turnover
        1. 3 year term – not lifetime bondage
        2. Gratitude for service rendered
        3. Don’t want the service to be burdensome
        4. New people bring fresh perspective
      4. IBHE, ICCB and iTransfer representation at every GECC meeting for standardization
    2. Expectations of Panel Members
      1. Attendance and Participation
      2. Review and vote on courses before meeting
    3. Enhancements to website in January
      1. Training program for panels (required)
      2. Includes more for Vets/Military students
      3. Visually familiar – more intuitive
      4. Panel Related Docs – dramatic changes – information will be available panel-by-panel
      5. iManage enhancements for simplification


  1. Course Review



1 courses



Governors State University

POLS 4600: Political Theory: Issues of Social Justice

Final Decision : Marked Incomplete


  1. Review Conditionally Approved Courses submitted and try to make decisions on them
    1. N/A


  1.  Course Approval Criteria and Submission Process
    1. Pre-requisites on criteria – inappropriate, too many, or don’t make sense?
    2. Krista will email to panel with corrections


  1. Items from Members
    1. Many don’t know what IAI is, especially at 4 years (Interim Dept. Chair)


  1. Appreciation/Thank You to Departing Members
    1. Joan Eastlund – Black Hawk College


  1. Next meetings will be held Thursday, March 20, 2014 and Thursday October 23, 2014 at ISU Alumni Center or Heartland Community College.

Files associated with this meeting

No files associated with this meeting

Site design, Information Architecture and Programming: Vacant

Copyright © 1996 - 2018 iTransfer.
If you have questions about transferring in Illinois, we may be able to help. Reach us at, Phone: (309) 438-8640