Major Physics Panel Meeting Summary for November 2016


To Facilitate Interinstitutional Transfer
Illinois Board of Higher Education
431, East Adams, Second Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1418
tel: 217/557-7355
fax: 217/782-8548
Illinois Community College Board
401, East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
tel: 217/524-5503
fax: 217/785-0090
Meeting Summary for Major Physics Panel Meeting
Conference Call, see below details Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Members present: : Douglas Brandt(Eastern Illinois University), Greg Diller(Illinois State University), Theodore Gotis(Oakton Community College), Dan Holland(Illinois State University), Krista Jackson(iTransfer System ), Sarah Kocunik(Waubonsee Community College), James Mais(Kishwaukee College), Virginia Makepeace(Kankakee Community College), Richard Ross(Rock Valley College), Mel Sabella(Chicago State University), Carmen Shepard(Southwestern Illinois College), Carol Thompson(Northern Illinois University)
Members present virtually:

No members

Members Absent: Malinda Aiello(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Ashley Becker(Illinois Community College Board), John Carzoli(Oakton Community College), Brian Durham(Illinois Community College Board), Tom Foster(Southern Illinois University Edwardsville), Adam Julian(iTransfer System ), Andrew King(Wabash Valley College (IECC)), Janice Leuchtenberg(iTransfer System ), Janice Leuchtenberg(iTransfer System ), Kelly Page(Harper College), Sara Pohl(Kishwaukee College), James Rabchuk(Western Illinois University), Christopher Reese(Lewis & Clark Community College), Kevin Riley(Governors State University), Mohammed Salami(Prairie State College), Mats Selen(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Richard Stillwell(iTransfer System )


REVISED SUMMARY - 11/1/2016 - 2:15pm

1. Introductions & Technology, Welcome New Members


2. Training, Orientation & Updates


3. Course Review

Courses For Panel Review

2 New Courses
3 Resubmitted New Courses
1 Ongoing Review Courses
1 Resubmitted Ongoing Review Courses

New Courses

IAICode: PHY912
Institution: Harold Washington College (CCC)
Institution Course Number/Name: PHYSICS 236: Engineering Physics II: Electricity and Magnetism
Conditional Approval

IAICode: PHY913
Institution: Harold Washington College (CCC)
Institution Course Number/Name: PHYSICS 237: Eng. Physics III: Heat, Light, and Modern Physics
Conditional Approval

Resubmitted New Courses

IAICode: PHY911
Institution: Harold Washington College (CCC)
Institution Course Number/Name: PHYSICS 235: Engineering Physics I: Mechanics and Wave Motion
Conditional Approval

IAICode: PHY912
Institution: Lake Land College
Institution Course Number/Name: PHY 141: University Physics II
Conditional Approval

IAICode: PHY914
Institution: Lake Land College
Institution Course Number/Name: PHY 142: University Physics III

Ongoing Review Courses

IAICode: PHY914
Institution: McHenry County College
Institution Course Number/Name: PHY 293: Principles of Physics III

Resubmitted Ongoing Review Courses

IAICode: PHY911
Institution: Elgin Community College
Institution Course Number/Name: PHY 111: Engineering Physics

4. Course Approval Criteria and Submission Process - Review materials

Small Revision made to add a bullet for active learning expectations that Krista will send out after revisions made.  Panel members will review lab information to ensure  it has the details and information necessary for labs.  Will email Krista to have suggestions sent on to the panel.

5. Items from Panel Members

New 4 year co-chair elected - Welcome and thanks to Douglas Brandt at Eastern Illinois University!

PHY 914 will be reviewed and a revision started by Virginia Makepeace at Kankakee Community College regarding expectation for 2 credit courses versus 4 credit courses.

6. Dates for Next Meetings – TBD by Ashley Becker, panel manager for spring 2017


CONFERENCE CALL INFORMATION: The IAI Physics Major panel will meet via conference call on Tuesday, November 1st from 10 am to 12 pm. For more information regarding agenda/meeting items, contact the panel manager, Ashley Becker at, ph#217-524-5503 or Krista Jackson at 309-438-8640.

Conference Call Information:
Number: 888-494-4032, Access Code: 524-553-4417

Site design, Information Architecture and Programming: Vacant

Copyright © 1996 - 2018 iTransfer.
If you have questions about transferring in Illinois, we may be able to help. Reach us at, Phone: (309) 438-8640