Major Chemistry Panel Meeting Summary for October 2013


To Facilitate Interinstitutional Transfer
Illinois Board of Higher Education
431, East Adams, Second Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1418
tel: 217/557-7355
fax: 217/782-8548
Illinois Community College Board
401, East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
tel: 217/524-5503
fax: 217/785-0090
Minutes for Major Chemistry Panel Meeting
ISU Alumni Center, Kasten Conference Room, Normal, IL Friday, October 11, 2013
Members present: : Wayne Bosma(Bradley University), Nicola Burrmann(Heartland Community College), David Edelbach(Sauk Valley Community College), Erick Fuoco(Daley College (Richard J.) (CCC)), Roger House(Harper College), Christopher Merli(Richland Community College), Laura Murdaugh(Kishwaukee College), William Peacy(College of DuPage), Mary Urban(College of Lake County), Sharon Weldon(Illinois State University), Samuel Wheeler(Illinois Community College Board), Marie Wolff(Joliet Junior College)
Members present virtually:

No members

Members Absent: Ed Acheson(Millikin University), Malinda Aiello(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Jon Carnahan(Northern Illinois University), Dan Cullen(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Robert Dixon(Southern Illinois University Edwardsville), Brian Durham(Illinois Community College Board), Krista Jackson(iTransfer System), Adam Julian(iTransfer System), Gary Kinsel(Southern Illinois University Carbondale), Doug Klarup(Eastern Illinois University), Janice Leuchtenberg(iTransfer System), Evan McHugh(Rock Valley College), Jennifer Ramm(Lincoln Land Community College), Christian Ray(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Rashid Robinson(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Amanda Winters(Illinois Board of Higher Education)


IAI [Major] Chemistry Panel

Friday, October 11, 2013 10:00 am

Illinois State University Alumni Center, Kasten Conference Room

Conference Call: 888-494-4032
Access Code:  524-553-4417

I.  Introductions

A.  Personnel Changes

1.  Malinda Aiello has rejoined the IAI team, she is now managing panels on behalf of IBHE

2.  New members introduced to the panel

            a.)  Alan Bruha ((Lewis & Clark Community College)

            b.)  Promise Yong (Illinois Valley Community College)

II.  Training, Orientation, and Updates

A.  New Policies and Procedures Manual

      1.  Everyone on the panel received a copy of the newly revised 2013 IAI Policies

      2.  It is also available for download at

   3.  The manual spells out individual responsibilities for all participants in the IAI process

      4.  The manual details how panel members should conduct a new course review

      5.  The manual also details the new Ongoing Course Review process

a.)  Because this panel has 4 total IAI course descriptors and they are sequenced at

each institution, the panel manager determined the Ongoing Course Review

process will look at:

1.  Both CHM 911 & 912 at 12 random institutions in Spring '14 and another 12

random institutions in Fall '14

2.  Both CHM 913 & 914 at 12 random institutions in Spring '15 and another 12

random institutions in Fall '15

            B.  Panel Member Term Limits

                        1.  We will do a better job of enforcing the 3-year panel member term limit

                        2.  Each semester we will thank departing panel members and welcome new panel members

            C.  iTransfer website changes

                        1.  iTransfer is reprogramming the site to make it more user-friendly

                                    a.)  The new site will launch in January

                                    b.)  We will talk more about it during the Spring 2014 meeting

                        2. = their mobile site is now live

            F.  Course Decision Making Criteria

                        1.  The panel will re-evaluate the material they request of submitters

                        2.  The co-chair will communicate with the panel manager about next semester’s agenda

a.)  May include a discussion on revising these materials and/or the course decision making document

III.  Course Review

A.  New Courses

IV.  Items from Members

A.  Panel manager has indicated this panel would benefit from recruiting additional members, including:

                        1.  Transfer Coordinators

                        2.  CAO

                        3.  University Provost/dean

V.  Panel Member Recognition

            A. David Edelbach and Jennifer Ramm received certificates of appreciation in recognition of their long

service on the IAI Chemistry panel. 

VI.  Schedule Next Meeting

            A.  Next two meetings scheduled

                        1.  April 4, 2014

                        2.  October 17, 2014

Task / Action Item Responsible Person Timeline / Timeframe
Review course submission materail All panel membersNov. 15
Communicate with Panel Manager if changes need to be made on Course Decision Making Criteria or any public documents on this panel Sharon Weldon

Files associated with this meeting

No files associated with this meeting

Site design, Information Architecture and Programming: Vacant

Copyright © 1996 - 2018 iTransfer.
If you have questions about transferring in Illinois, we may be able to help. Reach us at, Phone: (309) 438-8640