Major Biology Panel Meeting Summary for November 2016


To Facilitate Interinstitutional Transfer
Illinois Board of Higher Education
431, East Adams, Second Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1418
tel: 217/557-7355
fax: 217/782-8548
Illinois Community College Board
401, East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
tel: 217/524-5503
fax: 217/785-0090
Meeting Summary for Major Biology Panel Meeting
Changed to CONFERENCE CALL!!! See details below! Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Members present: :

No members

Members present virtually: Malinda Aiello(Illinois Board of Higher Education), Kelly Barna(McHenry County College), Catherine Carlson(Parkland College), Carol Dunn(Danville Area Community College), David Featherstone(University of Illinois at Chicago), Lakshmi Gollapudi(College of Lake County), Erin Grey-Avis(Governors State University), Katherine Hollis(Harper College), Sue Hum-Musser(Western Illinois University), Mitrick Johns(Northern Illinois University), Katie Rushing-Anderson(Black Hawk College), Neil Voss(Roosevelt University), Krista Winters(Spoon River College)
Members Absent: Ashley Becker(Illinois Community College Board), Deb Bielser(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Paul Brunkow(Southern Illinois University Edwardsville), Francesca Catalano(Kankakee Community College), Lindsay Eickhorst(Heartland Community College), Peggy Goetsch(Lincoln Land Community College), Krista Jackson(iTransfer System ), Margaret Jonah(Dominican University), Adam Julian(iTransfer System ), Abel Kinser(John A. Logan College), Elizabeth Kozak(Lewis University), Janice Leuchtenberg(iTransfer System ), Janice Leuchtenberg(iTransfer System ), Kenneth Mager(Kankakee Community College), Kelly McConnaughay(Bradley University), Greg Reid(MacCormac College), Sedonia Sipes(Southern Illinois University Carbondale), Richard Stillwell(iTransfer System ), Gordon Tucker(Eastern Illinois University), Bob Weck(Southwestern Illinois College)


1. Introductions & Technology, Welcome New Members

  • Welcome to Sue Hum-Musser from WIU.  She replaces Shawn Meagher, former 4-year co-chair and long-time panel member.


2. Training, Orientation & Updates


3. Course Review

Ongoing Review:

  • John A. Logan College - BIO 101 & 102 - APPROVED

Resubmitted Ongoing Review:

  • Waubonsee CC - BIO 120 & 122 - APPROVED
  • Shawnee CC - BIO 111 - RETURNED
  • UIC - BIOS 100 & 101 - APPROVED



4. Course Approval Criteria and Submission Process - Review materials 

  • CAC and current descriptor are both okay and do not need revisions at this time.


5. Items from Panel Members

  • Appointment of new 4-year co-chair:  Erin Grey-Avis from Governors State University


6. Dates for Next Meetings – 

  • Spring '17 = March 3
  • Fall '17 = October 6

Files associated with this meeting

No files associated with this meeting

Site design, Information Architecture and Programming: Vacant

Copyright © 1996 - 2018 iTransfer.
If you have questions about transferring in Illinois, we may be able to help. Reach us at, Phone: (309) 438-8640